Like most websites Modern Railways uses cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Modern Railways website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more


McLoughlin stays as minister


Claire Perry and Robert Goodwill also reappointed

Following the general election on 7 May, Prime Minister David Cameron confirmed that Patrick McLoughlin would remain as Transport Secretary in his new cabinet.

Mr McLoughlin, the Member of Parliament for the Derbyshire Dales constituency, was appointed to the post in 2012, succeeding Theresa Villiers.

Robert Goodwill will remain as Under Secretary of State, where his responsibilities will continue to include HS2. Claire Perry also remains with the DfT, and retains her rail responsibilities which include major projects and growth, infrastructure, safety and security, passenger services, strategy, funding and sponsorship, integrated delivery and accessibility and fares and ticketing.

Newly appointed to the department is Harrogate and Knaresborough MP Andrew Jones. Mr Jones, who chaired the North of England Electrification Taskforce, which reported in March, will take on responsibility for the Northern Powerhouse, including the Northern and TransPennine Express franchises, as well as matters including freight and logistics and smart ticketing.

Posted in News


Our Instant Issue Service sends you an email whenever a new issue of Modern Railways is out. SAVE ON QUEUES - FREE P&P